F-U-N

This year’s resolution trend is to chose one word to guide your year. Upon first hearing this, I thought the idea was a little bit too oversimplified. But as the concept settled in, I decided there was one word that really applied to my hopes, dreams, and goals for 2017: fun.

I’ve spent several years building a small business, rearing small children, and making a new (yet old) house feel like home. I am ready to shift gears. Focusing on how to make my life more fun is a refreshing approach.

Of course, I am still working, raising children, and cleaning and organizing a family home, but with fun guiding the way, I can certainly enjoy these tasks more. Here are some simple ideas of how to make things more fun:

  • Work: Use a portion of my income to fund fun activities, like vacations and outings with the family.
  • Kids: Figure out how much time I need to work each week and get the kids in school or activities for that amount of time. That way I can spend my time with the kids and my hubby on the weekends and have more fun.
  • Home: Research better cleaning products that smell good, do their job effectively, and are good for the environment. Engage in an online organization board to motivate me to tackle clutter. Find new recipes that make meal plans a bit more exciting.

This mindset of fun is helping me pepper the calendar with family-focused or self-care-focused activities throughout 2017. First up is the Women’s March in Washington, DC, on Saturday. I’m going down with several mom friends in my community. Of course, while the point of the march is to be in solidarity with one another and with those whose rights are threatened in the current political storm, being with strong, fearless women will make the process of democracy and free speech much more fun.

Can’t wait to write more about my fun 2017!

Leave a Reply

