Clean Slate

Did the first week of January seem like a long week to you? I feel like I put a lot of energy into getting back to “normal” after so many weeks of fun holiday stuff. And you know what’s so hard about doing that, I realized? We are so dang tired from the holiday hullabaloo that really JUST ended. It was only Monday that we packed away the Christmas decorations. Then Tuesday through Friday were a blur of getting back to the school routines. And then the hubby worked early mornings both weekend days. Now we’re here on Sunday evening, and I am just getting caught up. Taking deep breaths. Relaxing by the fire.

But even though last week was tiring, it felt so good. It was awesome to embody the clean slate that comes with a new year. I immediately started thinking of travel plans ahead, new work challenges, and upcoming transitions for the kids. I am getting used to a new one right now. My son started five-day preschool last week, and for the first time since I left full-time work in 2013, I have every morning to myself. However, I quickly realized last week that it’s still not a lot of time. It will take a bit to find a new balance with the schedule to manage work, fun, exercise, and more into those five two-or-so-hour days.

This week should feel even more routine. The kids are in school all five days. Nora starts a few new activities this week, including Daisies (yay!). Steve and I started watching The Crown last week and will continue chipping away at it. And I am thisclose to getting caught up with This Is Us. And my neighbor just loaned me a new book that I can’t wait to begin.

Here’s to bleak, cold, and refreshing January.

2 thoughts on “Clean Slate”

Leave a Reply

