Mid-November Thoughts

 

img_0282-copy

Hi friends,

I have been missing here lately. Life has been overwhelming. I’m parenting a kindergartener and an older preschooler, and things are challenging. I am balancing my roles as mom, small business owner, and volunteer. I feel like I am doing an OK job at a these roles some of the time, but I am struggling. There is not enough time. There is not enough energy. There is not enough of me.

And in case things weren’t feeling low enough, Tuesday was sure a shocker, right?! I am doing my best to process what happened and what is going to happen. I am an optimist and love our country. I believe good will come out of all of the despair, and I am eager to see how those of us committed to love will change the world again. I am confident it will happen.

In the meantime, I could not be prouder of how engaged my children were in this election (not the ugly stuff, but the voting) and how much they care about other people and want to learn more about how our democracy works. I can only hope that the examples I set for them now will empower them to spread goodness and hope throughout their lives.

I teared up and will continue to do so when I read Hillary’s concession speech from yesterday. My favorite quote is directed at young girls, just like my daughter:

I know we have still not shattered that highest and hardest glass ceiling, but some day, someone will, and hopefully sooner than we might think right now. And to all the little girls who are watching this, never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.

May we work together to heal this country, listen to the needs of others, and spread love where it is most needed. Hoping my spirits lift for the holiday season ahead and that I can step up further and really make a difference in my family, my community, and my country.

 

2 thoughts on “Mid-November Thoughts”

Leave a Reply

