Someday Is Now . . .

FullSizeRender (4)

Just about six years ago, we welcomed Nora into our world. She’s been lighting up our lives since that very day, and now it’s time for her next big milestone: kindergarten (and public school, the bus, and so much more).

Nora is an amazing kid with so much drive and determination. She’s completely ready for this next phase of her life. On the other hand, I am a nervous, emotional mess. How can it be that she’s school-aged now?

When Nora was born, I was acutely aware that we’d get an “extra” year with her at home because her birthday falls right after our school district’s cutoff date. Being the pragmatic person that I am, I definitely calculated the added year in terms of child care costs right away. It wasn’t until later that I realized how grateful I was to have that extra year with her. Nora benefited from her birthday falling where it does (likewise, her summer birthday brother seems perfectly suited for his given year of school as well). That additional year also helped me get my priorities straight and come into my own as a mom. Right before she turned three I took the plunge with a freelance career and left the nine-to-five life behind. That change allowed me to give her more of my time and really connect. This year we’ll still have some bonus time (kindergarten is just a half day in our district), so that leap keeps reaping rewards.

Every day I am delighted, humbled, and thankful for what this girl has brought me: more love, more patience, more fun, and more awe. I cannot wait to see Nora thrive in her new environment, even if it takes me awhile to adjust…

 

2 thoughts on “Someday Is Now . . .”

  1. Prediction – she’s going to crush it (in the vernacular of the day), and you are going to adapt very well, too, after a few days anyway! 🙂 Very proud of both of you, and the guys too!!!

Leave a Reply

