Mid-Summer Slump (Or Not)

IMG_9664

August 14 sure sounds like mid-month, don’t you think? Personally, I’ve always struggled with August, mostly because sky-high temperatures, relentless humidity, and rampant mosquitoes get old. I was always the kid counting down the days until school started. It’s just my way — I am an anticipator!

This time around is a little different though. Yes, summer weather is brutal. We’re in the midst of a severe heat wave and beating it with time at the pool and a Disney princess movie marathon. But the kids have had many weeks of activities in a row, my parents just gave them a dream stretch of grandparent camp, and we’re headed to the beach again soon. Plus my hubby has been out of town since mid-July (yes, a month!) and comes home tonight. It’s almost as though we’re going to experience a summer reprise once we’re a happy family of four again.

The weeks on my own have been hard, but they have also borne fruit. I spent a lot of time solo with the kids, playing with them, cleaning up after them, comforting them, dreaming with them. I’ve put them to bed twenty-four nights in a row (remarkable, since Steve is the bath/bed parent in the house). It was helpful to be their one and only as we prepare for the school year, not only to get a grasp on where they are developmentally but also to really size up their wardrobes and prepare for what’s ahead.

These solo weeks have also required me to ask for help and line up more child care than usual, which has been a blessing. Often I burn the candle at both ends, working a full-time job as a stay-at-home mom during the day and spending the evenings on the computer, editing books and journals and writing articles. I love having a career in addition to being the go-to parent, but it can be hard to juggle it all. This time without Steve has required me to lean on the grandparents, line up babysitters, and even add a few weeks of camp to the kids’ schedules. I am in a much healthier space regarding time management than I have been in for a long time.

IMG_9638

There have been many highlights during Steve’s time away. The kids and I have gone to the farmers’ market twice, had meals with many friends and family, gone out to dinner spontaneously a few times, traveled to the beach, swam at the pool, and crafted a lot — from coloring parties to sewing afternoons. I told the kids last night that I hope they’ll still give me a few kisses once Dad is home — it will be an adjustment for me to take second billing around here for a bit.

In spite of these fun times, I am thrilled to get my coparent back. For the past month, I’ve gone through another season of Gilmore Girls, done countless chores, and risen from slumber to check if the doors were locked on many, many nights.

Here’s to three more weeks of blissful summer.

1 thought on “Mid-Summer Slump (Or Not)”

Leave a Reply

