Seasonal Changes and Seasonal Illness

IMG_7751

I’ve had the good fortune to watch one of our Japanese maples turn into a orange fireball this week. It’s been welcome since the fever-gone-round-the-neighborhood hit Nora again this week, and we’ve been a bit stunted in our usual schedule. Also, yesterday brought some hurricane-created rain, and this vibrant tree reminded me of fall’s splendors — avoiding feelings of despair.

Can you believe November is around the corner? It’s hard for me to accept that it’s nearing the true holiday season. I always start thinking about holiday activities and gifts in October, which makes me feel crazy. But then a few weeks go by, and I realize that it isn’t so insane. Being a parent and someone in the sandwich generation requires a lot of organization and planning. Now when I start thinking about this in July, please give me a good shake! I am excited for what’s to come in the next few months, whether I am ready for it or not.

But before I get too ahead of myself, we’re ready to enjoy Halloween here! The kids have their preschool parade and parties tomorrow, and we’ll carve pumpkins and trick-or-treat Saturday evening. Should be fun!

IMG_7754

1 thought on “Seasonal Changes and Seasonal Illness”

Leave a Reply

