Summer Reading

IMG_6690
Recent library fun.

I’ve been following my heart lately and doing what I love: reading. While I’ve been flipping through fewer adult novels and creative nonfiction (my favorites), I’ve been editing like mad and reading tons of picture books to the kids. My happy place is with the written word, and summer is a spectacular time to re-engage with what I love and make some ambitious reading goals.

We are counting down to the start of the library’s summer reading program, and I hope to enter some reviews of adult books in addition to tracking the minutes the kids and I spend reading together each week. I love our library’s program. The kids just have to read 100 minutes a week and do an activity (such as story time or the weekly craft) to receive a prize during our library trips. These days, both Nora and Carson enjoy a variety of books. We read classics like Babar and those by Dr. Seuss as well as contemporary staples like Pinkalicious and ones by Mo Willems. I just bought the kids collections of phonics and sight word readers with Superman and Disney Princess themes, which add some fun and simpler reading to our queue.

Now that I am devoting significant hours to paid writing and editing, pleasure reading has become a precious commodity. My mom gave me several books recently that I hope to finish by summer’s end. The Rosie Project, The Girl on the Train, and Wild top the list. I can read on the treadmill at the YMCA, which should give me some time to knock these out as well as days at the beach with grandparents enlisted to watch the kids.

What’s on your summer reading list?

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading”

  1. Great post Natalie. I was just in the Boise Main Library this morning (after I found a parking spot), and appreciate all the moms-and-kids activity going on and also overhead a desk person describing (and encouraging) our summer reading program – much like yours!
    And OK – since you ask:
    Better and faster : the proven path to unstoppable ideas / Jeremy Gutsche;
    Man in profile : Joseph Mitchell of the New Yorker / Thomas Kunkel.
    American made : why making things will return us to greatness / Dan DiMicco
    Coined : the rich life of money and how its history has shaped us / Kabir Sehgal.
    Big Data revolution : what farmers, doctors and insurance agents teach us about discovering Big Data patterns / Rob Thomas.
    Terms of service : social media and the price of constant connection / Jacob Silverman.
    Midnight in Siberia : a train journey into the heart of Russia / David Greene.

  2. The library is definitely one of the best parts of summer! Glad you have such a nice one! 😀

Leave a Reply

