Worshipping Summer

IMG_6700

We’re in the middle of a glorious summer week, complete with a heat wave at the conclusion of it. Though I’ll groan about these 90-degree-plus days by August, I welcome this hot and sunny season with open arms.

Last week Mother Nature presented several days of cold and dreary. While I didn’t mind it at first, by day five I was ready to feel rays of sunshine on my face. It’s time to leave rain jackets behind and venture forth into this fun and relaxed season.

Today we traveled to a nearby farm to pick strawberries, raspberries, and cherries. While out in the field sweltering in the sun, I soaked in the beauty and abundance of summer. Sweet berries ripe on the bush being plucked by small children who put more of them in their mouths than in the basket. Peaches nearing ripeness, the fruit still small and green but showing signs of splendor. Two-feet-tall corn stalks reaching for the horizon, promising deliciousness by August.

As I squatted to reach for strawberries, I remembered other fruit-picking experiences in my life. Harvesting peaches, cherries, blackberries, and huckleberries with my grandparents, parents, and siblings as a child. Enjoying a blueberry-picking day with best friends in college. Plucking apples from the tree with my babies just a few years ago. No matter my age or those who surround me, summer will bring sweet fruits and savory vegetables each and every year.

The time spent in the orchards paired with our biweekly delivery of fresh produce fill me with gratitude for these warm, sunny, and bountiful months. While winter is long, summer is too, and I plan to make the most of it.

2 thoughts on “Worshipping Summer”

  1. There’s nothing like picking your own fruit..the last time I did it was in Virginia..picking apples from the trees. Yup, there’s just nothing like it. 🍒

Leave a Reply

