Summer’s Set!

IMG_4065

After my panic about the beginning of summer last week, I can now say that we’re all set (at least for now!). My nervousness about having little planned for summer helped me take a step back and assess what would be best for the kids in the next few months. So, while I didn’t overschedule us (who wants that in the summer?!), I added a few activities to the docket, particularly for my busy three-year-old.

In addition to paid activities, the kids and I discussed our “summer bucket list” and created some sticker charts so they could earn fun projects to do at home. I scored lots of great craft stuff at Michaels this weekend (using a 25 percent off coupon . . . woot!).

IMG_4069

My main areas of focus with the kids right now are making sure Carson has fun things to do (Nora seems to be signed up for all the paid activities . . . ) and that Nora learns how to have quiet time in the middle of the day so she can be rested properly for afternoon outings. I’m trying a “quiet box” for her this week to see if it helps her carve out an hour or more after lunch to play by herself. I think I’ll swap out the items with other ones (in the house already, nothing new) each week if this helps her find a quiet activity. Today it worked, so we’re heading in the right direction!

I am very hopeful that the kids and I will have a fun summer. With camping, a family wedding, the pool, the beach, gymnastics, play dates, and more on the docket, I think we will have one to remember.

1 thought on “Summer’s Set!”

Leave a Reply

