Selling and Buying a House with Two Kids in Tow: Settling In and Making Home Home

 

 

IMG_3830

Well, we did it! In the last five days, we’ve packed, closed, moved, and started to settle. It’s thrilling to be in the much-anticipated new house. It’s odd too. I am consfused when I wake up in the morning, I am unaware of what floorboards squeak, and I am still startled by the loud sounds coming down from our basement when the water runs. We’ve nearly doubled our square footage from this home to the last one, so the space feels massive (though it’s surprising how much stuff we already have to fill it!), and it’s fairly musty after being unoccupied for a year.

Our move went as well as could be expected. We were blessed with beautiful spring weather throughout the weekend, and help from grandparents made our move much more relaxing and enjoyable. We hired professional movers, which I highly recommend, as it saved Steve and me from ruining our furniture and stressing our muscles before the unpacking even began.

So much has happened that I can’t really write much at the moment. I haven’t digested all that we’ve done and haven’t yet taken any pictures of the house. I am happy to have this stressful and huge part of our journey done, though we still want to sell our first house and it’ll take many months to make our new place home. I hope to post more pictures and thoughts in the near future. Meanwhile, I’ll be working with the kids to create our new normal for the rest of the week.

1 thought on “Selling and Buying a House with Two Kids in Tow: Settling In and Making Home Home”

Leave a Reply

