Recent Reads

gate-at-the-stairs

I have been reading a bit more these days, thanks to my daughter’s no-nap days. Often, we spend the early afternoons watching a low-key movie and I quietly page through a book (I also think it’s good for her to see me reading on a regular basis. I always remember my mom’s nose in a book while I was growing up). I have been tackling my “to-read” bookshelf and finding some really great stuff, in part thanks to my college BFF Emily, who has a talent for selecting great books and generously gifting to me.

I finished A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore a few weeks ago and loved its mysterious plot as well as its crisp writing. Set in Iowa, the book highlights farm and university town cultures, juxtaposing them perfectly. I loved the very secretive character Sarah and was able to construct her so well in my head. I also identified with the main character Tassie and enjoyed how she was the same age as me (it’s set in the early 2000s, when I was also a college student). I’d highly recommend it and, in fact, am searching for it in my house to loan to a friend (how can a person with a 1,500-square-foot-house lose a book?!).

I’m currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and loving each and every sentence. I realize that I have been conducting a happiness project of my own in recent months and am thrilled to read this book and see that my ruminating about life makes perfect sense after all! I even subscribed to Rubin’s blog. I am totally on the positive psychology bandwagon and have been for some time, thanks to my former workplace, so this is the perfect daily dose of it for me.

Have you enjoyed your summer reading? Do you have anything on your fall list that I should know about?

1 thought on “Recent Reads”

Leave a Reply

