Carson’s Cowboy Party

P1050031a_edited-1

So, my little guy turned one last week. We were in Idaho for the festivities, and I thought since my boy is our Western-named little guy, a cowboy party would be appropriate to celebrate his big milestone.

We went all out for the celebration, which was also a family reunion of sorts, bringing together my two brothers and their partners, my parents, and us all together for the first time in more than a year.

Together with my extremely helpful family — we decorated and prepared a festive Wild West shindig:

The Decorations

I printed a Martha Stewart template and cut out the middle section of each printout to make these wanted posters. We hung them on my parents’ backyard fence.

P1050024a_edited-1

P1050023a_edited-1

My brother’s wonderful girlfriend constructed a last-minute birthday banner from a cowboy-friendly font found online for free and a paper bag, which she used to back the letters.

P1050021a

This guy kept creeping us out throughout the party:

P1050028a_edited-1

I fell in love with these cow-print balloons, which we used with blue, red, and brown ones as well.

P1050016a_edited-1

Of course, there were cowboy hats and bandanas. Even Baby dressed for the occasion.

P1050110a

P1050029a_edited-1

And, for the sake of family tradition, I made a big number one and used Carson’s monthly pictures.

IMG_2129a

Food and Drink

We kept things simple with lemonade (served in mason jars — my ode to Pinterest!), root beer, and standard, All-American beers like Budweiser to drink.

P1050022a_edited-1

P1050076a

We served peanuts in the shell, barbecue pork, potato salad, cowboy caviar — a Costco salad consisting of beans and corn, baked beans, tortellini in pesto sauce, and potato chips. I kept the food purposely low-key so we could all enjoy ourselves, and I didn’t even get a pic of the spread!

P1050017a_edited-1

Carson loved the cowboy meal!

P1050095a

P1050091a

Games

We played a few games in the backyard, including cowboy trivia and a game with ladder golf where participants tried to lasso different creatures taped on the ladders, including a steer, dinosaur, and hippo. Prizes included Moon Pies and jerky.

The Cake

I went store bought for the cake, since cooking in 100-degree heat isn’t my idea of a good time. We used a great local bakery, which chipped in a smash cake for free! I love the vintage cowboy look!

P1050100a

P1050102a

Smash!!!

P1050107a

Overall, the party was a great time and truly memorable for all those who attended. We’ll always remember our little cowboy on his special day!

P1050080a

8 thoughts on “Carson’s Cowboy Party”

  1. That is a GREAT party. I think you struck the perfect balance of hand/home-made and store-bought. Looks like a great time was had by all!

Leave a Reply

