Happy Hours

P1040789a_edited-1

What a week it’s been. Beginning with the Boston Marathon tragedy, several newsworthy and personal threads have woven themselves into a very emotional work week for me.

While I can’t go into too much detail about a major life transition that awaits me very soon (I can’t wait to get it out in the open, but I have a few more steps in the process before I can), I have to say that the time I spend with my kids before and after each and every work day are the happiest hours. Their smiles (and even cries) remove all anxiety, stress, anguish, and fear from my life.

I hope your week hasn’t been as upsetting as mine has been, but with the events happening around our country, I would suspect that many have had worse weeks than me and few have had better weeks. The moments that keep me going are, as Mr. Rogers pointed out, watching those helping others and seeing the resolute resilience of the people tragedy has affected. This morning as I drove to work, I listened to the thousands of Boston Bruins fans belt out “The Star-Spangled Banner” in unison at last night’s hockey game–the first sporting event in Boston since the Marathon. It gave me goosebumps and restored my faith in humanity.

P1040787a_edited-1

3 thoughts on “Happy Hours”

Leave a Reply

