Music to My Ears

232323232%7Ffp73493)nu=325 )562)446)WSNRCG=38985935; 32 nu0mrj

I rarely remark on my love for music, likely because I forget how essential it is to my everyday life. As soon as I get to work, I queue up Pandora. At home, Steve and I listen to jazz at night while the kids play. We have dance parties in the living room and sing to the radio in the kitchen. Nora’s got some good rhythm too–she really knows how to shake her bootie!

At our house, we’re not only appreciators of music, but we’re also musicians, something that I also often forget, since it’s been about twelve years since I was in lessons. I played the piano from a very young age all the way through my senior year of high school. While I’m nowhere near a concert pianist, I enjoy tinkering with a favorite sonatina or pop song now and again. I also dabbled in the string instruments during my childhood, playing the cello and violin for a few years. I could still bust out “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” on either instrument!

Steve’s a self-taught guitar and drum player, two instruments that I would love to play but am somehow incapable of doing. I took a few months of guitar lessons in high school and got nowhere. Steve can bust out many of our favorite 90s grunge songs on his electric guitar–a nice time capsule of our teen years!

Now that Nora is getting older and Caron’s bopping to music, I am trying to incorporate music appreciation into our home life even more. We recently moved our piano downstairs to be more central in our house, and I hope to take Nora to some outdoor music events this summer. She loved dancing to the Canadian rock band at Epcot earlier this month. She’s also taking a bigger interest in music, proclaiming that she loves The Beatles and requesting that we listen to the band in the car. Not sure where she got the idea in her head, but Steve and I aren’t arguing with her musical tastes.

And, since we’re on the topic, I am loving the new Justin Timberlake album. Loved him since the first solo album came out and fondly remember listening to it during a cross-country road trip with Steve. Justin just gets better and better!

2 thoughts on “Music to My Ears”

Leave a Reply

