Processing a Tragedy

All weekend, I read bits and pieces about the Connecticut tragedy. I can’t wrap my head around what happened. Part of me wants to understand why it happened while another part of my wants to avoid the topic all together. I have shed tears every day since Friday, thinking about how those innocent children lost their lives. My heart aches for their families.

Turning to the personal, I’ve been giving my children extra hugs and kisses since the tragedy, looking into their beautiful eyes and examining their dear souls. I am so glad that I blog here to articulate the love I feel for them. It’s a place for me to go and document the happiness that exudes from my family.

We had a wonderful weekend:

Making cake pops:

IMG_0921

IMG_0928

Being a cat:

IMG_0936

Grabbing the Christmas tree:

IMG_0932

While there is nothing good to come from the Connecticut tragedy, I have found myself comforted by Mr. Rogers, in a quote that has been circulating around my social media accounts:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of “disaster,” I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.

It is with the positive thoughts, love, and compassion that we’ll heal from this shattering tragedy.

Now, more than ever, I am committed to making each moment with my children count.

1 thought on “Processing a Tragedy”

Leave a Reply

