The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Looking forward to Showing This Guy a Fun Fall!

I know it’s only supposed to apply to December, but I really do think it’s the most wonderful time of the year.

We’re gearing up for a fun and joyous last quarter of 2012. In our family, with two birthdays–Nora’s and mine (this year, a big one), the football season (busy at Steve’s work and a major feature of our weekends’ entertainment), and the usual holiday bussle, every weekend brings celebrations and special outings. We’re packing our weekends with family trips, great meals, and friends and family. I can’t wait to carve pumpkins with my very-aware two-year-old, dress up my little guy in a costume (or two!), and enjoy as many pumpkin spice lattes (and pumpkin beers) as I want.

The best part about this fall is that for the first time in several years, it won’t be focused on conceiving babies or delivering one! It’s amazing how much our family has transformed since our last child-free fall in 2009. I keep looking at myself in the mirror (this happened a lot at work this week when I had some time to think about life) and thinking, “holy crow, I’ve had two babies in two years. Now it’s time to live again.

I am challenging myself to fill this space with the fun we’re going to have in the next few months. I am going to skip the serious, somber, overly reflective stuff for awhile and just bask in the joy that my perfect family brings to me day in and day out, week after week. It’s taken Steve and I a few years to create this foursome, and I couldn’t be happier.

3 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

Leave a Reply

