August, Week 5: Eleven Months

Pic of the Week

Tailgating with Daddy!

My Life

After a busy weekend hosting my parents, we’re back to a quiet house. The disruption was much needed though. We celebrated my dad’s birthday, went to a Phillies game, traveled to Ithaca, New York, and caught up with each other. It’s so nice to spend time with my family who lives on the other side of the country. Plus, my mom weeded our garden, emptied our dishwasher frequently, and watched our baby, so the extra helping hands were much appreciated.

After spending August going to the beach, updating our house, visiting with my parents, and traveling for a wedding, I am looking forward to the routine of fall. With Steve’s schedule packed during the week, our weekends are much calmer than in the summer, with maybe one activity planned and a home-cooked Sunday dinner. Though we have a birthday party coming up for a special almost one-year-old, our September should be fairly under control.

Nora Updates

Last Saturday, Nora turned eleven months old. Eleven months already?! Where has the time gone?

She does look like an eleven-month-old though, with her hair growing longer (and curlier), her body getting leaner, her walking getting faster, and her speech getting to be more human-like. Apparently, according to my mother and husband who seem to observe Nora’s verbal skills more closely, she can say “hi” and “up.” I think I don’t hear them because when she’s around me whine is her language of choice.

Nora loves to play with my purse, digging my wallet out of it and playing with my credit cards. She loves to walk around with giant clown shoes (her dad’s Converse). She loves the remote and has started changing the channels. She claps all of the time and cannot resist smiling and dancing when someone starts singing “If You’re Happy and You Know It.”

My parents and I took Nora to the Please Touch Museum, Philadelphia’s children’s museum this week. The new walker loved it, particularly the garden area, where she walked around with a rake and shovel for quite a bit of time. I can’t wait to get her in the garden next year!

Looking Forward To

We’re taking it easy this weekend, recharging after a busy month.

Leave a Reply

