Cookbook Review: Peas and Thank You

In April, I was having one of those weeks filled with despair. You know those weeks, the ones when you look at your life and think that nothing is going right.

To get out of my rut, I decided to join Twitter. To date, finding Mama Pea’s Twitter feed has been the single-best thing about joining the social-media site. Thanks to Ashley M.’s feed (she’s one of my favorite writing-major buds in college), I discovered Sarah Mattheny (aka Mama Pea) and her vegan- and vegetarian-focused blog. Instantly, I was hooked on her “recipeas,” sense of humor, and endearing family. I also love that she’s based in Oregon, where my extended family lives. It gives me a connection to the West Coast even though I’m all the way East in Philly.

In July, I mentioned that I bought Peas and Thank You, Sarah’s first book. I preordered the book and when I (finally) received it, I paged through it all night.

To date, Steve and I have tried several of her recipeas:

  • Picnic Tortilla Pinwheels: I really don’t like fake meat, but this got me to try fake bacon and my meat-lovin’ hubby says it’s better than the real thing. Wrapped with a tortilla, spinach, apple, and cream cheese, this will be a lunch item that even Nora will enjoy soon enough!
  • Thai Crunch Salad: We’ve made this twice already and the recipea stretches into leftovers for days. The Almond Vinaigrette salad dressing is so flavorful that I could eat it with a spoon.
  • Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Balls: I sampled a few of these when I made them for my friend Lisa. I was glad to get them out of my house because if I hadn’t I would have eaten the entire batch in one day.
  • Yogi Guacamole and Fire-Roasted Salsa in a Cinch: A healthier take on these game-day staples. The guac tastes more like an avocado-bean dip, but it is so filling that you don’t have to eat the entire bowl of guacamole to get full. We’ll be making this when the Eagles start the season soon!
  • Mmm Sauce: This isn’t in her cookbook, but this  sauce is dreamy with veggies and veggie chips. Steve’s a little hesitant to dig in because of the nutritional yeast included in the recipea, but since that might be my favorite condiment/flavor enhancer, I am further sold on this protein-rich dip.

I hope that by the end of the year, I will have made most of the delicious and easy recipeas in the book. I will buy a new blender soon so I can sample her smoothies (where, oh where, did the lid to our blender go?).

I am so happy to have discovered Peas and Thank You just as I am teaching a baby to eat solids. While Steve and I have decided to let Nora eat what she wants (even if that includes meat), this cookbook and blog will help me come up with family-friendly meals and snacks that will please me, the lifelong veggie, and my omnivore family.

Leave a Reply

