Five: Fourth of July Traditions

As much as I love blogging about Nora and my life as a mama, I thought it would be fun to introduce a new regular feature to my blog so I can share other things about myself. When I feel inspired, I’ll share a list of five things grouped into a theme that says something about my current interests.

I love the Fourth of July. I have warm and fuzzy memories of spending the holiday with friends and family, and we continue to carry out many of my childhood traditions. Here are my favorite:

1. Red, white, and blue desserts. For years, my mom and I brainstormed and created patriotic desserts for our annual block parties and family gatherings. Once, Steve and I even attempted this quite complicated Martha Stewart Flag Tart. I love all red, white, and blue dessert efforts even if they are as simple as cutting up red and blue Jello squares and making a parfait with whipped cream (forgive me, vegetarian friends, as I do occasionally indulge in gelatin) or more complicated homemade desserts like the above-mentioned tart. Though it’s been a few years since I have dedicated myself to a flag-inspired dessert, I hope to make one this weekend.

2. Pancake breakfasts. For my entire childhood, we attended an annual pancake breakfast on the morning of July 4th. Held at our local park and sponsored by the Kiwanis Club, we lined up early for helpings of pancakes and other breakfast staples. A few years ago we held a pancake breakfast in my parents’ backyard, which was a fun take on the tradition. I hope to get this going again for Nora in future years.

3. Breakfast at Wimbledon. Though not always on July 4th but usually during the celebratory weekend, I have watched the men’s final at Wimbledon with my dad or hubby for as long as I can remember.

4. Home fireworks displays. Growing up in Idaho, we were able to spend the evening of the holiday blowing off fireworks in our street. My parents have a corner house, so tens of kids spent hours lighting all sorts of fountains, sparklers, and the like. Now that I am in Philly, it’s not possible to have these eventful block parties, though our recent fireworks traditions (where we’re spectators to a neighborhood display) have been pretty fun too.

5. Cheesy outfits. I have a soft spot for the red, white, and blue outfits, whether it’s pulled together from the closet or a t-shirt from Old Navy. Steve, Nora, and I will be sporting our festive attire Monday!

6 thoughts on “Five: Fourth of July Traditions”

  1. Remember the year we did red white and blue nail polish and so did Dan?
    I making strawberry shortcake sprinkled with blueberries for our dessert on the fourth!

  2. I love holiday traditions! The pancake breakfast in particular sounds like such a lovely one to me!

Leave a Reply

