March, Week 4: Is It April Yet?

Pic of the Week

What's Up?

My Life

It’s been a roller coaster of a week. I started the week with a fresh attitude after a restful weekend. The week got a bit more intense by Wednesday and I was feeling crappy about so many things. Then, Steve took pity on me last night and let me have a big chunk of uninterrupted sleep. Today I feel great and excited for the weekend.

I am still struggling to fit in some “me” time these days. We’re back to a weird newborn-like sleep schedule so I am going to bed at around 8:30, waking up several times a night and then waking up for good around 5:30. This nighttime schedule is not conducive to nights out with friends or creative projects. I can only hope Nora gets back into a more regular sleep cycle soon (we’ve been speculating sickness, teething, and a growth spurt as reasons she’s been waking up three or four times a night) so I can have an hour or to two to myself.

Nora Updates

The poor baby is sick again! She’s wheezing and battling a runny nose. I feel so bad for her. I had to pick her up from daycare in the middle of the day Thursday and Steve is home with her today. It needs to warm up outside already so we can open the windows at home and daycare can open windows so we can get this stuffy, germ-laden recycled air out of our living spaces!

The baby girl continues to adjust to life with solid foods. She has even started eating fruit and cereal at daycare in the mornings. This week she completely said “no” to avocado (I was so hopeful she would like it!), “okay” to bananas, and “more, more, more” to butternut squash.

It’s so fun to watch Nora play with toys. She’s able to lunge and grab onto all of her age-appropriate toys and can easily move them between both hands. As I said to Steve yesterday, it’s hard to believe just a few months ago that we were exclaiming: “I think she LOOKED at a toy!” Now she is going after anything and everything.

Favorite Baby Item/Mommy Item

Nora has been in her crib now for two weeks and has been sleeping without a swaddle for the same amount of time. Though her sleeping patterns have changed dramatically since we moved her from the Pack and Play in our room to the crib in her room, we’re happy we forced her out of the swaddle when we did. We’re using the Halo Sleep Sacks now and they are great. I don’t have to worry about her wiggling out of the swaddle and getting cold and/or harming herself. Just yesterday, I found her rotated ninety degrees in her crib.

Looking Forward To

We have a fun weekend ahead. Brunch tomorrow morning and then a possible room redo Sunday.

Leave a Reply

