March, Week 3: Colds, Coughs, and Sleep Transitions

 

Pic of the Week

Lovin' Some Sweet Potatoes

My Life

It’s been a long week. I think I have my fourth or fifth cold of the winter season. I knew having a baby in daycare would make us more sick but I did not realize how draining it would be until I got sick a few times. I am taking one of my first sick days ever at work (in six years) so I can rest. The last time I pushed myself too much I ended up being sick for an entire month.

I have been in the mood to organize lately. After our Disney trip I felt very behind. Last weekend was packed with catching up from our fun a weekend lost from our trip. I not only cleaned and straightened the whole house (with the help of Steve) but I also planned yummy healthy meals for us and made Nora several batches of baby food. My efforts paid off this week, especially after all three of us ended up being under the weather.

Nora Updates

We’re nearing the half-year mark with Nora and I have to say she’s quite a different baby than she used to be! This week was a big transition week. We determined that it was time for her to move into the crib for nighttime sleeping. She had been sleeping in our room in her pack and play since birth. However, realizing the crib would be more comfortable for her and wanting to make the transition before she got too set in her ways, we moved her last weekend. And, while we were at it, we decided to stop swaddling Nora. After a week, things are going pretty well. She’s worn her fleece sleep sack for the entire week and is getting used to having loose legs when sleeping (she’s always kicking them around in the crib). And last night Nora spent the entire night in her crib, even opting to go back to it after we offered the middle of our bed to her at 2 a.m. As a bonus, Steve and I are enjoying our room being back to normal.

Nora loves to swat her arms up and down like she is splashing water. At daycare, she has been engaging in water activities, which I think has introduced her to the swat. She’s splashing water in the bathtub and swatting at toys. With this newfound discovery, I think  a wave isn’t too far away.

We’ve really upped feeding Nora solids as well. She’s now eating sweet potatoes, applesauce, and green beans. She finishes her dinners and I am going to start her on a breakfast meal soon.

Favorite Baby Item/Mommy Item

Loving my food processor and baby-food storage containers. I prepared sweet potatoes, green beans, butternut squash, and pears for Nora last weekend. I hope to make all of her baby food. Given that we cook ourselves meals every day, why wouldn’t I make her food too?

Looking Forward To

We’re on a secret mission tomorrow for the grandmas. Will report on that soon!

2 thoughts on “March, Week 3: Colds, Coughs, and Sleep Transitions”

  1. Hope you are feeling better! I’ve been battling a nasty cold all week–there are definitely yucky things going around.

    I look forward to hearing more about the secret mission! 🙂

Leave a Reply

