Random Mama Thoughts

Sweet Nora

It’s nap time for baby Nora and her daddy. Napoleon and Abe, our furry companions, have joined them. I am here in a quiet house, just having returned from my first jaunt out since baby was born. I promised over-tired daddy that I would make dinner tonight and had to shuffle out to Trader Joe’s to pick up the ingredients for the recipe I am going to try out in a few hours: West Coast Grilled Vegetable Pizza.

It’s the first weekend that we’ll be alone with Nora. My mom stayed back in Philly for two-plus weeks, which proved to be very valuable considering I had an unexpected C-section. Though I was sad to send her back to Idaho, it has been fun navigating life with a newborn on my own. Nora and I have spent our days sleeping, eating, fussing, and getting to know each other. I am enjoying my special time with her and know that it won’t last forever. Work and a more hectic life will beckon soon . . .

That’s not to say that I am not going a bit stir-crazy by myself in the house. I have been conserving energy to help my recovery for the last two-and-a-half weeks, but now I am getting ready to venture out and explore the world as a mommy. We’ll be meeting Nora’s friend Calvin on Sunday, which will be our first major outing. Several of my friends were pregnant at the same time as me and Calvin arrived only five days after Nora!

I am ready to start some crafting again too. I miss keeping my hands busy with knitting needles, scissors, and a needle and thread. Plus, the whole point of this blog is to showcase the distractions in my life. As I am on maternity leave, baby watching/obsessing is the dominant factor in my life and, therefore, does not count as a “distraction.”

Here’s to a great weekend filled with sleep; hanging out with my husband, baby, and a few friends; and digging into a new project or two after a busy few weeks.

2 thoughts on “Random Mama Thoughts”

  1. We are so honored that meeting our little guy is on your short list!!! Can’t wait to see you. xoxo (p.s. Gabe just sat down, baby in lap, grabbed his knitting and declared: “If Natalie can do it, I can do it!” You have inspired him!)

Leave a Reply

