Finished: Baby’s Alphabet Quilt

A few months ago, I went shopping to buy fabric to make gifts for friends. However, I couldn’t help myself and indulged in buying a cute alphabet panel in the “From Aldo to Zippy” line designed by Jenn Ski:

Original Aldo to Zippy Panel

I loved the cute animals on the panel, but the blue sashing around each animal and letter didn’t go with the nursery. So, in typical, first-time mom fashion (you know, the type who does crazy time-consuming projects to make everything absolutely perfect in the nursery), I cut out each letter and sashed them in orange fabric to better coordinate with little one’s nursery. I did keep the quilt gender neutral and added a cute border fabric in the same Aldo to Zippy line.

The Finished "Hacked" Quilt

I am very happy with how the quilt turned out. I tied the quilt with orange floss to save time, so at least I am not completely nuts, right?!?

A View of the Crib Wall

We hung the quilt over Baby S.’s crib. I have a fear of having anything heavy hanging over her when she sleeps, so a nice baby-sized quilt decorates the wall perfectly and practically. Plus, no matter what baby number two’s gender, we can use this in our next nursery.

5 thoughts on “Finished: Baby’s Alphabet Quilt”

  1. I love the quilt! And what you did to it improves it so much (at least to my taste). One more project checked off!

Leave a Reply

