Finished: Christmas Stocking Advent Calendar Made with Heather Bailey Felt

Felt Stocking Advent Calendar, Days 1 through 6

I am pleased to be able to (finally!) post this project. It was my first seasonal gift of the year and I have been working on it like crazy for the last few months. This Christmas stocking advent calendar was a gift to my brother Jordan, who recently celebrated his twenty-fifth birthday. Considering the close proximity of his birthday to the start of December and the fact that he is beginning to “nest” in his apartment, I thought it was a good time to give him a fun handmade decoration.

Felt Stocking Advent Calendar, Days 7 through 12

I made the garland-style advent calendar using Heather Bailey’s new designer felt line, which was a real treat. I absolutely adore the colors in her line and had fun creating a more pop-art inspired advent calendar for my brother, who enjoys collecting all things kitsch.

Felt Stocking Advent Calendar, Days 13 through 18

Before I gave him this gift I loaded him down with little presents inside every stocking that he can share with his girlfriend throughout December.

Felt Stocking Advent Calendar, Days 19 through 24

To read more about this project, click on the jump.

In other news, I have added a festive holiday banner to Nat’s Distractions and begun the holiday craziness at home. We’re almost finished purchasing gifts for the holidays and I am working like the devil to finish handmade gifts in time for present opening. Check back often to see the happenings going on at my home!

One of My Favorite Single Stockings, the Reindeer

Why I wanted to do this project: I made a stocking advent calendar for our house last year and Steve and I enjoyed the entire month of December because every day brought a small present! Growing up, my brothers and I had several advent calendars at home and I have always loved a countdown to something special. Also, my brother is growing up and I wanted him to have a special holiday decoration that reminded him of our childhood together. Plus, when I saw Heather Bailey’s new felt line, I was dying to make a project using the awesome material!

How long it took me: I shouldn’t admit this considering the time I put into the project. However, I don’t consider it time wasted! Since this was hand sewn and I created the design for each stocking, I would estimate that the project took 60 hours. But it was a great project for sitting in front of the TV watching the Phillies in the World Series!

13, 14, & 15

Bumps in the process: Of course, with a project of this magnitude, I got a little burned out on the whole thing from time to time. I couldn’t work on it for more than a couple of straight hours before getting sick of the whole thing.

What I learned: I love these advent calendars! Despite the time they take, I would do one every year. They are festive, cheerful, and a truly one-of-a-kind gift for a family member or close friend.

5 thoughts on “Finished: Christmas Stocking Advent Calendar Made with Heather Bailey Felt”

  1. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

