Finished: Pleated/Quilted Pillow

I spent last night huddled in my house, opting for a night in with my husband. While I finished this project, I realized that fall is almost here. It’s been ages since Steve and I were home on a Friday night just hanging out watching junk television and eating take out. The only thing that could have made the evening better was if some college football had been on (oh and, if was really fall,  some pumpkin pie).

The Pleated/Quilted Pillow Using Anna Maria Horner Fabric
The Pleated/Quilted Pillow Using Anna Maria Horner Fabric

I finished this pillow last night, which I  call the Pleated/Quilted Pillow. While some of it is from my head, I was very inspired to make this project after looking at a pillow in the spring edition of Stitch magazine. I also couldn’t wait to use fabric I bought from Anna Maria Horner’s  “Good Folks” line made by Free Spirit.

I really like how this project turned out and am looking forward to making some more pillows in the near future. They are very fun, manageable projects, and I can get a little bit more creative with them.

Click below to read more about the construction of this project.

Another Shot of the Finished Pillow
Another Shot of the Finished Pillow

Why I wanted to do this project: I hoped to sew some classy and sophisticated pillows and wanted to use the Anna Maria Horner fabric. I purchased a copy of Stitch magazine a few weeks ago, and it featured a long and narrow pillow where half of it was pleated. Using that idea, I decided to hand quilt one half of the pillow because the fabric lent itself well to it. I used “Penelope” fabric by Alice Kennedy from Timeless Treasures for the back of the pillow.

Back of the Pillow
Back of the Pillow

How long it took me: I began to hand quilt this project a few weeks ago. I finished it up a few days prior to beginning the rest of the pillow. After I purchased a pillow form yesterday, I decided to wrap up the project on the same day. I created the pleats, sewed front pieces of the pillow together, and stitched the front and back pieces together last night. Overall, I think the project must have taken six hours, given the time for the hand quilting and learning how to make and tack pleats.

The Fabric Swatches
The Fabric Swatches

Bumps in the process: I had never made such long even pleats before and was unfamiliar with tacking pleats. While I think I ended up doing this technique correctly, it took my awhile to figure out how to do it. Also, when I put the pillow form into the opening of my pillowcase, I was a bit distressed by the pleats’ distortion. I had to take out a lot of the pillow form’s batting to ensure my pleats didn’t look wonky.

Close Up of the Quilting and Pleats
Close Up of the Quilting and Pleats

What I learned: It’s easy and fun to make sophisticated pillows. In the past, I had sandwiched two pieces of fabric together and sewn along the outside edges to make a pillowcase. Now I know it’s worth conceptualizing a beautiful pillow and spending a few hours to make the idea come to life. It also helps when you pick out beautiful fabric.

1 thought on “Finished: Pleated/Quilted Pillow”

Leave a Reply

