Finished: Amy Butler’s Truest Triangle Table Runner

Truest Triangle Table Runner Quilt Made With Daisy Chain Fabric
Truest Triangle Table Runner Quilt Made With Daisy Chain Fabric

Yay for productive and fun weekends! I finished this Amy Butler pattern this weekend and still managed to go out Friday and Saturday nights (really all day Saturday for a wedding). I love the Truest Triangle Table Runner and, as you can see, it is already on my table.

This was a pattern from Amy’s new Electric Quilt Company software and I finished it in less than eight hours. I cut the fabric a few weeks ago and pieced it together last weekend  but managed quilt and bind it today. In homage to Amy, I made the pattern with her Daisy Chain line. I look forward to using this pattern again for gifts and holiday decorations as it’s modern and easy to put together.

A More Detailed View of the Truest Triangle Table Runner
A More Detailed View of the Truest Triangle Table Runner

To read more about my experience making this, click “keep reading.”

Some Amy Butler Daisy Chain Fabrics
Some Amy Butler Daisy Chain Fabrics

Why I wanted to do this project: This was the first pattern I noticed in Amy Butler’s new software package. I liked how the pattern incorporated a lot of different fabrics but in a modern and sophisticated way. I liked the assymetry of the pattern as well, as two rows of triangles are much larger than the other two rows of triangles (the big triangles have eleven in each row and the smaller ones fifteen). Plus, I have a thing for table runners. They are an easy way to decorate a dining room table when there is no fancy dinner on the horizon.

How long it took me: I purchased the fabric a month ago. I cut the triangles out soon after and began sewing the quilt top last weekend. I quilted it today and just finished the binding a few minutes ago. I think in totality the project took me seven hours.

A Close Up of the Table Runner
A Close Up of the Table Runner

Bumps in the process: Not many, although I did struggle with getting the tips of the triangles to meet up perfectly. If they were slightly off I didn’t sweat it  because they were not distracting to the overall quilt top. I am sure that as I become a more experienced quilter, this part of the process will get easier.

What I learned: Table runners come together fast! This was an enjoyable project that did not leave me frustrated once. Amy’s instructions are very clear and easy to follow.

Leave a Reply

