A Note About Obama

It is not my intention for this blog to be political, because I have made a point in my adult life to not be judgmental of the diverse political and religious views of my friends and family. However, anyone who knows me outside of this blog knows that I am a die-hard Democrat. I also love America.  Therefore, I was absolutely delighted with the election results Tuesday night.

Tears welled in my eyes all of Tuesday night and when, at 11 p.m. Eastern time, Barack Obama won enough electoral votes to win the presidency, Steve and I embraced and I started really crying. While I was so pleased with the outcome because of my political views, I sure hope those who supported the other candidate are at least impressed that we, as a country, have finally overcome serious societal obstacles. As Steve and I watched Barack’s speech later that evening, I looked over at him and said: “I am so happy that our children will never know a world before this.” It’s amazing that we’ve broken this glass ceiling and I can only hope that a woman president isn’t unattainable in my lifetime.

Wait to go, America!

Leave a Reply

